IAPAC Ends 2008 Cycle with New Slate of Candidates

October 30, 2008, Washington, D.C. – Concluding its 2008 election cycle activities, the Iranian American Political Action Committee (IAPAC), today announced its support for new slate of candidates for the U.S. Congress, including: Senator Norm Coleman (R-MN), Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ), Congressman John Mica (R-7th/FL), Congressman Patrick Murphy (D-8th/PA), and Congresswoman Loretta Sanchez (D-47th/CA).

IAPAC is the registered bipartisan connected political action committee (PAC) of the Public Affairs Alliance of Iranian Americans (PAAIA), which contributes to candidates for public office who are attuned to the domestic concerns of the Iranian American community. IAPAC focuses exclusively on domestic policy issues such as civil rights and immigration, and encourages Americans of Iranian descent to actively participate in the American electoral process.

IAPAC contributes to candidates who have an exceptional track record on the domestic issues of importance to the Iranian American community, have articulated a readiness to engage and work with Iranian Americans, or are in a position to have influence over the domestic legislative issues of concern to the community. Foreign policy issues are not taken into consideration for supporting or opposing a particular candidate, including a particular candidate’s views or activities with respect to the Iranian government. IAPAC’s analysis is exclusively focused upon the candidate’s track record on domestic issues as they pertain to the Iranian American community.

“Iranian-Americans, in my home state of New Jersey and across the country, are leaders in their communities and in their professions,” said Senator Frank Lautenberg. “I am grateful for IAPAC’s endorsement and I will continue my fight on behalf of the American Dream and the preservation of our civil rights and liberties.”

Established in 2002, IAPAC has contributed to 43 candidates, including nine Iranian American candidates. IAPAC has also contributed to the National Republican Senatorial Committee and the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee. Federal candidates previously supported during the 2008 election cycle include, Senator Susan Collins (R-ME), Senator John Kerry (D-MA), Senator Gordon Smith (R-OR), Governor Mark Warner candidate U.S. Senate (D-VA), Congressman John Campbell (R-48th/CA), Congressman Tom Feeney (D-24th/FL), Congresswoman Kristen Gillibrand (D-20th/NY), Congressman Michael M. Honda (D-15th/CA), Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney (D-14th/NY), Darius Shahinfar candidate U.S. House of Representatives (D-21st/NY), Congressman Christopher Shays (R-4th/CT), Congresswoman Niki Tsongas (D-5th/MA), and Congressman Henry Waxman (D-30th/CA).

Click here to learn more about the candidates supported by IAPAC.


You are donating to : PAAIA, Inc.

How much would you like to donate?
$15 $25 $50
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note